top of page


2009 Awardees


This year’s awards acknowledge a young colleague whose generous collaborations and inventive research have improved measurement and extended the scope of attachment study, a renowned scholar who opened the door to studying attachment beyond infancy, and one of the co-founders of the New York Attachment Consortium and the Bowlby-Ainsworth Award Program. Finally, a Special Award recognizes the contributions of a distinguished psychiatrist who has helped realize John Bowlby’s goal of significantly affecting clinical practice.


As the award program approaches the end of its first decade, we again acknowledge the contributions of all the awardees, their students, and those who have helped with nominations and award decisions. 


Founder Awards


Mary B. Main







For Ground Breaking Work in Moving Attachment to the Level of Representation - A Turning Point in Research and Clinical Applications




Everett Waters






Staunch Defender of the Core of Attachment Theory and Guardian of Methodological Rigor




Contributor Award 


Annie Bernier





For Studies of Attachment Measurement and Mentoring and for Generous Collaborations in the Bowlby-Ainsworth Tradition




Special Award


Jeremy Holmes, M.D.





For Recognizing and Clarifying the Significance of the Secure Base Concept for Clinical Practice



bottom of page